Jump to content

[CARD] Raichu is broken


WilliamHague
 Share

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

The never give up attack on raichu says that you can attach all lighting energy cards,  in any way you like but only let's you attach basic from your discard

Edited by Mod_GuruLot
title updated to reflect the sub's format, tag and item prefix included
Link to comment
Share on other sites

This is not a bug

 

Read the card:

 

You can use this attack only if you have at least 3 more Prize cards remaining than your opponent. Attach all [L] Energy cards from your discard pile to your Pokémon in any way you like.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Mod_GuruLot changed the title to [CARD] Raichu is broken
1 hour ago, WilliamHague said:

The never give up attack on raichu says that you can attach all lighting energy cards,  in any way you like but only let's you attach basic from your discard

 

Hello @WilliamHague

 

We welcome you to the forums! 

 

Thank you for your post. I've updated the title for clarity. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

18 minutes ago, Lalamon said:

This is not a bug

 

Read the card:

 

You can use this attack only if you have at least 3 more Prize cards remaining than your opponent. Attach all [L] Energy cards from your discard pile to your Pokémon in any way you like.

 

Hello @Lalamon

 

Thank you for stepping out to help the fellow trainer @WilliamHague.

 

We appreciate constructive interactions! 🤝

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No so the speed lightning and flash energy don't count as lightning energy it does not say only basic so why no speed energy.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Special energies like Speed Energy are considered typeless unless they're attached to a Pokemon. Since your energies were in the discard, they weren't attached to a Pokemon and as such were not Lightning and couldn't be attached by Raichu. You can see something similar in this interaction, as stated by the rules team:

Q: Can you get Speed {L} Energy with Volkner?
A: No, you cannot. Speed {L} Energy only counts as Lightning Energy when it is attached to a Pokemon.
(TPCi Rules Team (2020-05-07))
  • Upvote 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 7/9/2021 at 11:05 AM, pikayou said:

Special energies like Speed Energy are considered typeless unless they're attached to a Pokemon. Since your energies were in the discard, they weren't attached to a Pokemon and as such were not Lightning and couldn't be attached by Raichu. You can see something similar in this interaction, as stated by the rules team:

Q: Can you get Speed {L} Energy with Volkner?
A: No, you cannot. Speed {L} Energy only counts as Lightning Energy when it is attached to a Pokemon.
(TPCi Rules Team (2020-05-07))

 

This is the correct answer. Any time a card specifies a specific type of energy in the hand, deck, or discard pile, special energy cards (which don't have a type unless attached to a pokemon) are automatically excluded.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...