Jump to content
EzriCat

[Card] Clawitzer

Recommended Posts

EzriCat

Card link: https://www.pokemon.com/us/pokemon-tcg/pokemon-cards/sm-series/sm6/26/

 

I used Clawitzer's "Standing By" attack.

 

In my opponent's next turn, they used a supporter card to change my active pokemon, then knocked out the new pokemon.

 

I selected Clawitzer as my active pokemon again. I used the "Sharpshooting" attack, but it's base damage was not increased like it was supposed to. The act of switching active pokemon seems to have broken that part of the logic, despite the requirements written on the card being fulfilled. Because I used "Sharpshooting" on my next turn after using "Standing By" with the same Clawitzer, the attack should have increased its base damage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
RobRatt

When your Pokémon was forced to the bench, it "reset" the previous attack's effects.  It does seem like broken logic, but it's been this way always (20 years).  Basically, you need to think of these switches as becoming a new Pokémon.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
EzriCat

Other attack effects persist, even if a Pokémon is forced to the bench—like Inkay's "Ink Spit":

Quote

If the Defending Pokémon tries to attack during your opponent's next turn, your opponent flips a coin. If tails, that attack does nothing.

The effect still persists, even if Inkay in benched before the opponent attacks. This seems like inconsistently applied logic.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
RobRatt
31 minutes ago, EzriCat said:

Other attack effects persist, even if a Pokémon is forced to the bench—like Inkay's "Ink Spit":

Quote


If the Defending Pokémon tries to attack during your opponent's next turn, your opponent flips a coin. If tails, that attack does nothing.

The effect still persists, even if Inkay in benched before the opponent attacks. This seems like inconsistently applied logic.

 

In the example you've used, the effect is placed on the Defending Pokémon, right?

 

If your opponent retreated that Pokémon, and then used something like Switch to move it active again??  ...Even though it's the same card, it's a new Pokémon entirely.  It's reset.  That new Pokémon would NOT have to flip before attacking.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...