Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
KitIlealis

Possible Caturday attack glitch

Recommended Posts

KitIlealis

Not sure how the attack works yet so it could be a ruling I did not catch but here is what I saw:

 

I would think evolved pokemon with a memory energy should be able to use attacks for free if a previous evolution had the Catur day attack.

 

It's if being able to use an attack is the same as having the attack

 

I previously used Mew EX who could copy any attack of pokemon in play.  I used it in a 'round deck and while Mew was on the bench it was considered to "have" round not just be able to use it, because my Meloetta EX did more damage with a mew EX sitting on the bench.

 

Rulings could have changed who knows.

 

So the online game is NOT letting evolved pokemon (say incineroar), with a memory energy, benefit from the no energy effect of Gathering of Cats.  I don't know if that's the online game not working properly or if that's how it works and the attack 'cat urday' has to actually be printed on the card not gained through an effect. 

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
nautiscarader
Posted (edited)

I think that's how it's supposed to work. I tried using similar idea with Pachirisu from forbidden light with "Snuggly Generator", which allows it to attach an energy card to each pokemon with "Nuzzle attack", and it did not work on a bunch of Raichus, whose Pikachus all had Nuzzle (Shrine of memories was also in play, granting the same Memory energy ability).

 

A reverse question is more interesting: what if pokemon forgets yadrutaC?  Say it was attacked with an "Amnesia"-like attack, and opponent made it forget yadrutaC . Can that pokemon still use other attacks for free? Cos if not, then it's kinda inconsistent: both Memory Energy and Amnesia grant effect modifying list of attacks [and then you try to read rest of this sentence in my mind because of filters] not. If one of these doesn't work, the other shouldn't..

 

[edit: So, your Orwellian word filters are horrible. Fix them, seriously. It's Cof agrigus all over again. :D .]

Edited by nautiscarader
CAN I HAS YADRUTAC?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
jcgoble3

The official ruling on this is that the ability to use an attack is not the same as actually having the attack. The evolution can use Catur day, but does not have Catur day. It only has what is printed on itself. The effect applies only to Pokémon that have Catur day, and the evolution does not have that attack (only the ability to use it), and thus cannot attack for free.

 

In the case of an amnesia effect, those effects are generally worded as "cannot use that attack". Again, the ability to use an attack and having the attack are two different things. In this case, Catur day cannot be used, but the Pokémon still has Catur day (even though it's temporarily useless), and thus it could still use other attacks for free. If a similar effect were worded as "loses that attack until the end of your next turn", then it would no longer have Caturday and could no longer attack for free with other attacks.

 

Source: I am a judge in real-life tournaments, have seen the discussions in the Professor community and the official ruling on the former by the Rules Team, and am familiar enough with how cards work to easily figure out the latter.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
jcgoble3

(Double post because I just saw this and don't know how to edit a quote into an existing post)

 

On 5/4/2019 at 1:54 AM, KitIlealis said:

I previously used Mew EX who could copy any attack of pokemon in play.  I used it in a 'round deck and while Mew was on the bench it was considered to "have" round not just be able to use it, because my Meloetta EX did more damage with a mew EX sitting on the bench.

 

That would have been a bug in the game, as it was never ruled that way in real life.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
KitIlealis
20 hours ago, jcgoble3 said:

(Double post because I just saw this and don't know how to edit a quote into an existing post)

 

 

That would have been a bug in the game, as it was never ruled that way in real life.

 

Okay.  That's why I thought it could happen.  Surprised the bug wasn't fixed though the entire time I used that deck.  Thanks for the insight.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...