Jump to content
Gwasman

Gardevoir-GX and Unit Energy?

Recommended Posts

Gwasman

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting on the forums, so firstly, apologies if this is in the wrong forum. If it is, would a moderator kindly be able to move it to the correct home please!

Now, I say it may be in the wrong place as I'm not sure if what I'm querying is a bug or an intentional game mechanic. It may well have already been addressed, but I've yet to find anything stating it, so please bare with me!

 

 

The potential bug, although I guess just general question, is whether or not Gardevoir-GX's Secret Spring ability is bugged to not allow the attachment of a Fairy/Dark/Fighting Unit Energy through its use?

 

 

I would like to highlight Quagsire's Wash Out ability;

 

"As often as you like during your turn (before your attack), you may move a Water Energy from 1 of your Benched Pokémon to your Active Pokémon."

 

This ability doesn't state that the Water Energy HAS to be a BASIC energy, and thus being able to move a Water/Fire/Grass Unit Energy with the use of this ability is possible, and has been done so in White Kyurem/Quagsire deck builds.

 

 

So, with this in mind, I would also like to highlight Gardevoir-GX's Secret Spring ability;

 

"Once during your turn (before your attack), you may attach a Fairy Energy card from your hand to 1 of your Pokemon."

 

Again, this ability also does NOT state that the energy HAS to be a BASIC energy.

 

 

So, my question, if Quagsire allows a player to move a Unit Energy (if it is the Water/Fire/Grass Unit Energy) with the use of its Wash Out ability, should Gardevoir-GX also allow a player to attach a Unit Energy (if it is the Fairy/Dark/Fighting Unit Energy) with the use of its Secret Spring ability?

 

 

If anyone is able to shed any light on this, it would be greatly appreciated!

 

Many thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
RobRatt

It's a common question, but look at the first line of Unit Energy again.

 

Before it can be considered a certain Energy type, the Unit Energy must be attached to a Pokémon.  When it's in your hand, deck, or discard pile, it's a single Colorless Energy.

 

So, once it's attached, an Ability like Quagsire's would be able to move it around.  ...while Gardevoir GX can't attach it as a Fairy, since it's still Colorless (in your hand).

  • Upvote 4
  • Downvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Gwasman

Ah, that makes sense. I was focusing on the wording of the abilities of the Pokémon in question, and totally overlooked the text on the energy itself!

Thank you for clearing that up for me!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...