Jump to content

Burning Energy counts as fire


SuperStone
 Share

Recommended Posts

I recently played a game against a Typhlosion buring eruption deck.  At one point, their attack discarded, in its five cards, two fire energy, a supporter, an ultra ball, and a burning energy.  Because the attack does 80 damage times the number of fires, and since Burning energy doesn't count as fire unless it's attached to a pokemon, the attack should have done 160 damage.  However, it instead did 240- as if there were three valid energy discarded.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I recently played a game against a Typhlosion buring eruption deck.  At one point, their attack discarded, in its five cards, two fire energy, a supporter, an ultra ball, and a burning energy.  Because the attack does 80 damage times the number of fires, and since Burning energy doesn't count as fire unless it's attached to a pokemon, the attack should have done 160 damage.  However, it instead did 240- as if there were three valid energy discarded.

You're right about Burning Energy counting as Fire Energy, "only while this card is attached to a Fire Pokémon."

 

But, looking at Typhlosion's Massive Eruption attack, I think you might be mistaken about this being a game bug.

 

Typholosion's attack says, "Discard the top 5 cards of your deck.  This attack does 80 damage times the number of Energy cards you discarded."

 

Even though Burning Energy can't be attached to anything but a Fire Pokémon, IT IS STILL an Energy Card.  It doesn't say Fire Energy or Basic Energy (only) in Massive Eruption.  When discarded, it would still count, right?  Like the guy above said, it would still add 80 damage if it was Water, or Double Colorless, etc.

Edited by RobRatt
  • Upvote 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

You're right about Burning Energy counting as Fire Energy, "only while this card is attached to a Fire Pokémon."

 

But, looking at Typhlosion's Massive Eruption attack, I think you might be mistaken about this being a game bug.

 

Typholosion's attack says, "Discard the top 5 cards of your deck.  This attack does 80 damage times the number of Energy cards you discarded."

 

Even though Burning Energy can't be attached to anything but a Fire Pokémon, IT IS STILL an Energy Card.  It doesn't say Fire Energy or Basic Energy (only) in Massive Eruption.  When discarded, it would still count, right?  Like the guy above said, it would still add 80 damage if it was Water, or Double Colorless, etc.

 

If this is true then why can't Metagross GX fetch shield energy with its ability?   You're applying the rule to one type but not the other.

  • Downvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

If this is true then why can't Metagross GX fetch shield energy with its ability?   You're applying the rule to one type but not the other.

Metagross GX looks for Psychic and Metal energy cards in the discard. Special energies are not those types unless attached to pokemon.

Typhlosion looks for ANY energy card being discarded. All special energy cards are energy cards even when they don't provide any.

 

It's all in the wording.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

If this is true then why can't Metagross GX fetch shield energy with its ability?   You're applying the rule to one type but not the other.

as the other guy said metagross only look after 2 types

 

but if you try lets say carbink break he can search any energy card in discard and attach it to fighting type pokemons so strong energy dce etc etc will work

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...