Jump to content

Question about energy rules


Never_Against

Recommended Posts

If a card asks you to discard a certain element energy card (like emboar's attack, which has you discard all fire energy attached,) if you substitute a rainbow energy in place of that energy, do you discard the rainbow energy or discard nothing?

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I would imagine the card is referring specifically to just "Basic Fire Energy" cards, as in they are printed as fire energy cards, so Rainbow Energy would be exempt? heh, guess this would be something to experiment with in a game, huh?

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

While in play, rainbow energy counts as all types of energy. So if you had your Emboar with 2 basic fire energy, one rainbow energy, and a basic grass energy - you would discard both fire and the rainbow energy.

 

If the card had specified to discard all "basic fire energy" that is when rainbow energy would be exempt, as it is a special energy card - not a basic.

 

In the case of Emboar with Flare Blitz, a rainbow energy attached to him would be discarded as part of the effect of the move.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...