Jump to content

Golurk's Superpower doesn't do 20 self damage to him.


Haaselh0ff

Recommended Posts

I used Superpower in a match against a Rapidash and used Superpower's +40 damage to end it in one shot but was never dealt any damage in return for using it's +40.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

That's actually because of an interesting rule. Golurk's Ability makes it deal Fighting-type damage (on top of Psychic), but Golurk itself resists Fighting. Unless stated otherwise, damage from the Pokémon's own attack is affected by Weakness and Resistence - thus, Golurk's -20 Fighting Resistence cancels out the recoil damage it would otherwise inflict on itself.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

That's actually because of an interesting rule. Golurk's Ability makes it deal Fighting-type damage (on top of Psychic), but Golurk itself resists Fighting. Unless stated otherwise, damage from the Pokémon's own attack is affected by Weakness and Resistence - thus, Golurk's -20 Fighting Resistence cancels out the recoil damage it would otherwise inflict on itself.

That's really kinda awesome! Had no idea it worked like that! Thanks for the TIL

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...