Jump to content

Mewtwo EX: Damage Change VS Carbink: Safeguard Ability


SMihelis

Recommended Posts

Not sure if it is a bug or working as intended but experienced the following:

 

1. Mewtwo EX with 100 damage counters uses Damage Change on Carbink with Safeguard Ability, Mewtwo EX removes all damage counters from itself and Carbink's ability prevents it from receiving said damage counters.

 

2. Mewtwo EX with 100 damage counters uses Damage Change on Safeguard:Carbink with 8 damage counters, Mewtwo EX removes all damage counters from itself and Carbink's ability prevents it from removing the 8 damage counters from it leaving Mewtwo EX with no damage counters.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1. is not a bug. Carbink Safeguard ability prevents all effects of attacks including damage done to it from EX Pokemon. Mewtwo Damage Change affects both Pokemon. So the effect on Carbink is prevented but on Mewtwo applies normally.

 

2. Sounds weird.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

How weird is this then (even the first case)?

 

Where does the changed damage went to? I mean it can't be leaving the board as it is not damage healing - if you can't change how can both have then nothing left?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Not sure if it is a bug or working as intended but experienced the following:

 

1. Mewtwo EX with 100 damage counters uses Damage Change on Carbink with Safeguard Ability, Mewtwo EX removes all damage counters from itself and Carbink's ability prevents it from receiving said damage counters.

 

2. Mewtwo EX with 100 damage counters uses Damage Change on Safeguard:Carbink with 8 damage counters, Mewtwo EX removes all damage counters from itself and Carbink's ability prevents it from removing the 8 damage counters from it leaving Mewtwo EX with no damage counters.

case 1 is normal

 

case 2 definitely is a bug: the correct one should be mewtwo ex receive 8 damage counter from carbink, while Carbink's ability prevents it from receiving said damage counters.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

case 2 definitely is a bug: the correct one should be mewtwo ex receive 8 damage counter from carbink, while Carbink's ability prevents it from receiving said damage counters.

 

That's incorrect.  It's been ruled that this interaction works as intended.  You can find this in the official compendium.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...