Lysandre and Volcanion

nash52

Hi, hope this isn't in the wrong place. I'm still fairly new to everything pokemon tcg related, and forums in general. 

I just played a volcanion/flareon deck with my M mewtwo deck. I started super slow with hoopa and then an early game N from my opponent knocked me into a supporter drought and couldn't get going for a while. Finally I draw VS Seeker and am able to get my sycamore from turn 1 back and get going. I knock out baby volcanion, he replaces it with volcanion ex and attacks for 160 on M mewtwo with volcanic heat meaning that particular volcanion ex could not use that attack again next turn. He has a float stone attached and another benched volcanion ex ready to go, but it was his only other attacker ready. Easy OHKO for M mewtwo and I have lysandre. In what I thought was a brilliant play I brought out the new volcanion ex and demolished it with ease. All while assuming the original volcanion ex (the one who had just attacked me) would not be able to attack on the upcoming turn. During his turn he states that the game is glitched and won't let him attack. I mentioned the brilliance of my play and he told me that the effect of the attack was supposed to reset when volcanion ex (or any other pokemon with an effect on it for that matter) hit the bech. He claims he should have been able to attack that turn with the original volcanion ex. I think I would have won either way, and that was exciting to me to not lose with such a slow start, but I would like to know if he is correct.I am no pokemon guru. Should the effect on that particular volcanion ex have been gone, allowing him to use volcanic heat two turns in a row?