Genesect-EX decks on Legacy

sasserod1

Hello, everyone.

I want to start a discussion about the power of Virizon-EX/Genesect-EX decks on the Legacy format.

Since the Tournaments (now Events) were introduced in PTCGO I started playing less and less versus match-ups and more and more tournaments, specially after the introduction of Legacy format.

My first Legacy deck was a Darkrai-EX/Sableye; it started well, I won 5 tournaments in a row, made to 6 out o 8 finals in a row etc. Then I moved to Rayquaza-EX/Eelektrik, but I don't own a single Tropical Beach which I found to be somewhat important specially after a really bad starting hand. Then I built a Virizion-EX/Genesect-EX and later a Weavile decks. But the thing is, no matter which deck I play (regardless VirGen) I have a poor winning rate against VirGen. And all matches goes down pretty much the same way. Obviously I won a few matches against VirGen but all of then required some luck on my part and some bad luck on my opponent's, and this is something that really bugs me.

You guys may say 'Then play VirGen yourself'. I'm not particular fond of VirGen, but the thing is, what's the point (and fun in) everybody playing the same deck? I guess I could try a fire deck, but I'm not putting my hopes on it.

I don't want to win all Events I play with a super-duper-unbeatable deck (that's exactly what I critizing here), but getting 8 tickets is not something you do in 5 minutes and when I enter an Event, I want to have a fair chance of winning, not to lose on the first round to a VirGen deck that took 5 prizes while a struggled to take 1. 

Now, I consider myself a good and experienced player, I have 268 Gold Trophies, 111 Silver Trophies and 121 Bronze Trophies (around 50% on Standard, 45% on Expanded and 5% on Legacy). I'm always adjusting my decks and testing new strategies.