Questions before the rotation

Cardiac311

First a little back story......

I am rather new to the PTCG online and I am enjoying it a great deal.  I am an older guy (mid 40's ) who has always liked competitive card games and I have been playing for about 1 week. I  have completed all the trainer challenges and playing the verses theme matches.   I have received multiple booster packs form challenges and such.  I have only spent 500 coins on the Dark Hammer theme deck.  

I am reading about the rotation that is up coming in less than 2 weeks.   This is all very new to me.  at some point (after much practice ) i may be interested in becoming more competitive.  Or course I would like to do it the most economical and practical ways.  

At the current time I have over 2700 coins to spend.   Is there anything that I should or need to purchase with them before the rotation???  I have read many threads, some suggesting certain booster decks and others saying certain theme decks.    I not yet started playing ticketed tournaments (Maybe this weekend).  

I am looking to plan towards the big picture, I tend to be one of those guys who grinds a game and like to work for rewards.  I would just hate to make a mistake early on that sets me back a bit. And I can be very competitive by nature.  

I welcome any advice and suggestions.   I would also like to have a group of adult players that are similar to me that we could correspond online and discuss game issues, strategy and together become better players.   Although I have much experience in game theory from semi professional poker, PTCG is new to me and I am loving the challenge !

Thanks

Dee

Hi and welcome.

There's 2 ways to focus the upcoming rotation. Going for the all the new that is coming, or getting the older before it goes away.