Shaymin-EX

Tesagk

I posted a trade earlier today for 6 FC, 2 Breakthrough, and 1 Ancient Origins for a Shaymin-EX (Roaring Skies).

It just expired, and at no surprise to me. I did it on a whim just to see what would happen. I've seen trade offers in excess of 30 or 40 packs (I've even seen 50). 

I've been buying Roaring Skies packs with my tokens for so long that I have 2-3 of almost every ultra rare in that set, but no Shaymin.

I don't begrudge people for wanting fair value. However, a quick glance online tells me that the physical card goes for $50 a pop. Yet, dropping almost $150 on a box of Fates Collide (first ever Pokémon box). 36 packs. Means that what people want for an online Shaymin is 3x as much as the real, physical thing.

Most people are trading or seeking the secret rare, which is understandably much more valuable. Nevertheless, a problem presents itself, one which I am sure has been brought up before.

--

I am no expert at deck building. But I've been getting great tips. Still, a recurring theme seems to pop itself into the good advice: you need Shaymin-EX.

Is it not problematic to have a card which works so well with so much that it basically feels like a core card to have for top tier decks, but is so hard to get?

I'm sure it makes lots of money for Pokémon, which gives little incentive to change it. However, it's frustrating for me, as a new player, to feel like there's this exclusive crowd that I can only be a part of if I trade away my soul (figuratively) for it. I know that having the Shaymin won't make me a better player, but it will make a lot of my decks much better.

It's too much for one card. It artificially raises that card's value to levels that could be considered gouging. Tell me I'm not the only one who feels this isn't right?