Jump to content

Battle Compressor forces you to discard at least 1 card


PrideSP

Recommended Posts

Battle Compressor forces you to discard at least 1 card, but if you play the game in real life, you could discard 0 cards, and just use it to look at the cards in your deck, or use it and then find out there's no card you want to discard. Please fix it, thank you.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You cannot search for 0 cards in real life. It is public information that your deck has cards in it, so therefore you must search (1 to X), in this case for Battle Compressor, 1-3 cards.

 

From Pokegym:

"In Pokemon, "up to X" always means "1 to X".
Since it is known that there is at least one card in the discard that meets the requirements, you would have to take at least one.
There are similar rulings for getting "up to X" cards from the deck where the type of card is not specified and you have to take at least one because it is know that there is at least one "card" in the deck.
The only kind of deck searches that can fail are when you are searching for specific types of cards, and their presence would be unknown."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

But before the patch, you can search 0 cards. I think you're mistaken, because a lot of cards that says up to allows you to get 0 cards even when you do have the cards. Like Xerneas for example, even if you have the Pokemon and cards, you can get 0.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

There is a difference between searching for ANY card and searching for a specific type of card.

Example: Xerneas

"Choose 2 of your Benched Pokemon. For each of those Pokemon, search your deck for a Fairy Energy card and attach it to that Pokemon. Shuffle your deck afterward."

It is not public information that you have fairy energy in your deck. Even if they exist, you can choose not to find and attach them.

 

Contrast this with cards like:

Computer Search

"Search your deck for a card and put it into your hand."

You are not looking for a specific card, but any card. It is public information if you have any cards at all in your deck, so you cannot fail to find.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...
Hello!

 

As already mentioned, this is not a bug and is working as intended. As such, I'll go ahead and close this thread, but please feel free to create a new thread or submit a ticket via the link in my signature if you come across any other issues.

 

Thanks for your report!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
×
×
  • Create New...