Discussion: # of Basic Pokémon

Tesagk

I'm still a newbie when it comes to deck building. I'm sure that I'm not alone in this.

I often come up with questions I'd like answered, but rather than asking someone specifically, I figured I would throw it out to the community. Helpful, thoughtful, or other "good" answers may make it into the original post for the benefit of all.

Question: How many basic Pokémon should a deck run?

I've had issues getting a first hand with as many as 10 basics. However, I've seen some decks run as little as 5 or 6.

What are your thoughts?

It just depends on the deck. Generally, you don't want to run too many though. My decks tend to focus on 1 main attack, and run around 3 copies of that card. And usually run around 2 or 3 copies of other cards in the deck, depending on how much room there is and what cards I need.

It's okay to not pull a basic in your first hand. Deck strength matters more.

Good thoughts so far, guys. Yeah, I've found that 6-10 is a range I like to stay in. 6 is sort of on the low end though, not sure what decks would utilize that. I suppose if I had two Shaymin for my Trev deck I could see myself doing 4 Phantump and 2 Shaymin.

It depends on the deck, really - TDK may run as much as 12-15 basics (Thundurus, Deoxys, Kyurem, maybe Lugia + techs). Big basics deck (Landorus/everything) run almost totally on basics (Garbodor *cough*). 

Think that EX are Basic pokémon so usually if it's your main attacker you'll run 4 of each + 2 shaymin + 2 or more basic for support (e.g. Remoraid), a middle number of 8 per deck.

Totals use to go 12 to 15 more or less so if your deck's main attacker is a Stage 2 you would run 4 basic for that + support, lets say Garchomp+Lucario so 4 Gible+ 2 or 3 Lucario + 2 Hawlucha + 2 or 3 Landorus+...? 12+? That's a lot. It is? Does work? If works is right . And Greninja Deck? 4 Froakie+2 Remoraid, only 6, too low? Works? Right.