Trouble Beating Anyone

Greedalox

Oh hello! I started playing a couple nights ago and I decided to make my first little deck with a few of the cards I've won. I take it to fight a few other players and for the past 6 hours I think I've won once legitly, every other time was people forfeiting turn one or timing out. However, it's mainly consisted of horrendous losses where turn 3 or 4 I'm pretty much put in a situation that I can't be saved from, and in those 3 or 4 turns they spend quite a few minutes each simply building up the 3-4 Ex cards they throw down turn one.

My one legit win was against someone with similar cards, consisting of what appeared to be no Legendary, no Ex and maybe 1 or 2 fully evolved pokemon. So what I am asking is if there is an option to fight newer players as well? Possibly people who are not already immensely decked out with amazing cards. I found myself losing my temper under my breath just trying to find a match that I could have any hope of winning, and I consider myself to be a patient person.

Am I destined to simply fight AI? That doesn't sound very appealing to me in a card game, especially when they repeatedly retreat over and over removing all their energy cards and then continue doing nothing. I really like the game but I'm at a point in my life where I haven't a lot of money in excess to be spending on card games, so that's not an option.