The problem with Pokemon TCG Online and how to fix it.

MrMorloc

Dear Developers,

I recently started playing the wonderful Pokemon TCG Online and I am finding the card game much more enjoyable than other online card games such as [Content removed - please keep all discussion on the topic of Pokémon. -Mod. Poplar]. However there is HUGE problem that need's to be addressed with the client.

In [Removed], a player will downloaded the FULL game with all graphics already included. Having the game only at 300 megabytes to download seems like a great idea because people will be able to jump into the game more quickly, therefore distributing your product to more people.

However this system of "streaming" the cards creates an issue. More of the player's bandwidth is used to download the cards thereby slowing the game down, not being able to see card's until they load, or cards not displaying at all. The system is unfortunately broken.

This causes players to believe the game is slow and buggy. This GREATLY effects the ratings that you get for your game, and when players visit the app store/review site to look at a review of your game they will see a 2/5 for your game. Other players who still decide to give the game a go will be less likely to continue playing, eventually giving up in frustration of the game "not working". This game deserves at LEAST a 4/5, Coming from a background of playing [Removed] of which I enjoy Pokemon TCG more.

I am aware that you have an option in the client's settings that allows the player to "Download All Cards." However, when clicked a message displays "We are downloading all card assets" with an OK button. You click OK and than what happens? Is it downloading? The player can't see the progress of the download's and know that 4+ GB of cards is being downloaded? Once all files are downloaded the player is not notified that the download is complete. This is confusing as players don't think anything is happening at all.