Jump to content

problem with suicunes safeguard against toxicroak ex


champmoish

Recommended Posts

suicune is supposed to nullify the damage AND effects by pokemon EX, but toxicroak still manages to do triple poison on me

Link to comment
Share on other sites

how is Triple Poison not an attack? what is it then?

 

Any move that doesn't have a damage value next to its name isn't counted as an attack. Moves without damage values also ignore effects of things like Rocky Helmet, Muscle Band, Resistance and Weakness.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If it uses energy it should be counted as an attack, the fact that using it ends your turn should be an indication of that. If it wasn't considered as an attack then I would imagine that you'd be able to use triple poison first, then Smash uppercut at the same turn

 

The reason those moves aren't affected by Rocky Helmet/Muscle band/resistance or weaknes is not because they aren't considered as attacks, its because they deal no damage, it is should still be considered an attack

 

If the Pokémon this card is attached to is your Active Pokémon and is damaged by an opponent's attack (even if that Pokémon is Knocked Out), put 2 damage counters on the Attacking Pokémon. - Emphasis is on "damaged by an opponent's attack" if your opponent's attack deals no damage (like triple poison), then rocky helmet doesn't activate

 

[TABLE=class: roundy, width: 100%]

The attacks of the Pokémon this card is attached to do 20 more damage to your opponent's Active Pokémon (before applying Weakness and Resistance). - Emphasis is on "20 more damage" meaning it needs to already deal damage to be able to add that additional 20

 

 

[/TABLE]

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The reason those moves aren't affected by Rocky Helmet/Muscle band/resistance or weaknes is not because they aren't considered as attacks, its because they deal no damage, it is should still be considered an attack

 

Moves like Gardevoir's Eternal Radiance damages the opponent without activating Rocky Helmet/Muscle Band/Resistance/Weakness/Effects (for example Cinccino's Smooth Coat). That's because it's not considered as an attack.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Moves like Gardevoir's Eternal Radiance damages the opponent without activating Rocky Helmet/Muscle Band/Resistance/Weakness/Effects (for example Cinccino's Smooth Coat). That's because it's not considered as an attack.

 

Eternal radiance is an attack that deal no damage, but it has an effect, which is moving damage counters(NOTE, it does NOT deal damage, it only moves damage counters). using it still ends your turn, so it IS an attack

 

@champmoish, if there is no garbotoxin in play, I believe it is a legitimate bug

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hello trainers!

 

Hopefully I can clear this up for you. From the Pokémon Trading Card Game Rules for XY:

 

WHAT COUNTS AS AN ATTACK?

Every attack has a cost and a name, and it might have a base damage and damage text. Most of the text on a Pokémon describes its attack, even if it doesn’t do any damage.

For example, Panpour’s Collect does no damage, but it’s still an attack! Anything else is called an Ability or something else. For

instance, Dusknoir’s Sinister Hand Ability moves damage counters around, but it doesn’t count as an attack.

 

 

This means that Toxicroak-EX's Triple Poison does count as an attack and should be blocked by Suicune's Safeguard Ability.

 

With that being said, we were unable to replicate the original report made in this thread. Safeguard seems to be blocking Triple Poison as intended. When you experienced this, were there any Ability-cancelling effects (such as Garbodor's Garbotoxin Ability) in play? Any more information you could provide would be incredibly helpful to our investigation.

 

Thanks for your patience!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...