This game is terrible for new players

Ezekius

I just started playing Pokemon TCG online. It's the first time I have ever played this TCG, and from what I have seen so far it's next to impossible for new players to enter the game and expect to ever win.

I lose 99.5% of matches within the first couple turns, and there is nothing I can do about it. The acceleration available for people who have dumped tons of money into the game make it impossible to compete. All the starter decks are complete garbage.

I can definitely understand where you are coming from. I felt the same way when I first started playing the online game. EXs were killing me... and I wasn't really enjoying the PvP portion of the game.

My first step towards being more competitive online was buying a theme deck (at the time, I had to buy the deck in real life, because the option to buy the deck with trainer tokens did not yet exist), beating the trainer challenge to unlock all of the cards in the free decks, and redeeming all of the free codes that were available at the time. With just those cards, I was able to build a slightly less than perfect Tier-1 deck, which brought my win percentage up considerably.

Since then I have become one of those people you mention that has "dumped tons of money into the game", because I enjoy the game and wanted to have the option of playing more Tier-1 decks. And by "tons of money", I mean about $50. I'm sure there are people who've spent more, but that doesn't make their deck better than mine; They probably just have more Top Tier decks available to play than I do (and probably more full art and secret rare cards).