Jump to content

Special energy ruling


avgnfan26

Recommended Posts

(Just so everyone knows I'm fully aware how this would play out normally the post is asking why the ruling isn't like the following example) Lets say player one has 3 Prism energy attached to Keldo EX and also has a Virizion EX in play player one then attacks with Keldeo EX for 110 using all Prism as water energy, Player 2 plays a Hypeotoxic Laser and Keldo EX isn't effected because of Virizion EX's Verdant Wind ability but as stated they were used as water energy last turn, since prism's text states "This card provides every type of energy but only one at a time" why is it then assumed to be a grass energy for Verdant wind to take effect? I feel like players should state the energy type being used at the time and once the turn is over the energy they pick is stuck as that until their next turn

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Key words: "One at a time" means that the instance it is used as a water energy it is used for that purpose, moments later it can be a different energy type.

 

If the card read: "This card provides every energy type but only one type until your next turn."​ ​then your argument would be valid.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The "but only one at a time"-part is realy only there to prevent cases where Pokemon can do multiple things (extra damage, or other effects...) depending on the Basic Energies attached to them. For instance, Ho-Oh EX from Dragons Exalted: without that line, Ho-Oh would have a 3-energy 180-damage attack without drawback (besides getting a little 10 damage for Rainbow Energy).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It can even be considered as different types in the same instance. Example: Roserade (HS Unleashed) triggers an effect if an energy is attached to it, one effect if P and another effect if G. Rainbow triggers both effects at once.

 

It just can't be considered as more than one energy, like on attacks that cost several different types (because the attack needs an energy of one type AND a separate energy of another type).

 

 

Rainbow is not a basic energy; it is a special energy, so cards with "basic energy" in the text (like Ho-oh EX) will not have that effect triggered by rainbow. If Ho-oh EX did not say "basic energy," then rainbow would indeed give it a 200-dmg attack (20 + 20 per type; there exist 9 types) for a rainbow and a DCE. As things are, though, rainbow doesn't even count as one type for Ho-oh EX.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...