Team Plasma/Frozen City Deck: Advice for a Newbie

greendotz2

Hey guys, I’m really new to the game and wanted to build my own deck rather than just copy a pre-set one. I’ve been having pretty good success with my “Team Lazarus” deck, I was wondering if anyone could offer their suggestions on how to improve it (as I mentioned earlier I am new so apologies in advance for any obvious mistakes I make, please be gentle :P)

POKEMON: (17)

x4 x 1 Leafeon (TP)

“ ”x 2 Espeon (TP)

x2 Tropius

x1 Deoxys EX (TP)

x1 Genesect EX (TP)

x2 x1 Beheeyem (TP)

x2 x1 Weezing (TP)

TOOLS: (24)

Colourless Machine

X2 Hypnotoxic Laser

X3 Pokemon Catcher

X2 Switch

X3 Team Plasma Ball

X2 Tool Scrapper

Cilan

Ghetsis

N

Shadow Triad

X3 Skyla

X2 Frozen City

Eviolite

G-Scope

ENERGY: (19)

X7 Grass

X7 Psychic

X3 Blend (grass & psychic)

X2 Plasma

#####################

As you can see, the main priority is to run as many high damage/low cost pokemon as possible. Skyla’s/TP Balls and “call for evolution” allow me to pretty much choose my bench. The second priority is to throw down the Frozen City stadium card and abuse my heavy TP line up. In terms of wins I’m currently 39 and 11 (78%) on expert PvP which is fantastic but I still feel there’s wasted potential in the deck. Even with 2 tool scrappers silver mirror shuts this deck down pretty hard (although strangely I haven’t seen a single mirror been played in the last 2 weeks, I guess team plasma pokemon aren’t “in vogue” anymore?). I’ve also had a little trouble with Darkrai decks.

Espeon is definitely my MVP, so easy to get out quickly (I rarely don’t have an Espeon by turn 3) and for 1 energy her attack is incredible. The ability to deal weakness damage to beach completely wrecks Psy decks. So even if the number 1 TCG player in the world told me to ditch Espeon, I still probably wouldn’t :P