Newbie looking for next steps for his first PvP deck

leFroxx

Hey there!

I'm new in PTCGO and played nearly only the league modes for the free boosters. Now I want to build my first modified deck for PvP.

I built a very careful start with Serperior and Samurott as main 4-2-2-lines with 2 Levelballs. As additional Basics I added Bouffalant (for the beginning because of -20 dmg) and Patrat (for the beginning and getting more cards/ energy).

I also wanted to add 2 of my EX cards - Shaymin and Kyurem, but I have just 1 of each of them, and I don't really know how to use those cards ingame in a good way. My other EXs are Latios, Mew and Regigias, but I think they are not very good, aren't they?

I play with double*energy (x4), leaf (x8) and water (x8), and my trainer cards are Cheren (x3) and Colress (x2), but I'm not sure about the rest.

So, what can I do next? Is it a good way to use those 2 main lines at all? Can I use my EXs in a good way there? and What trainer cards would be good?

I have about 500 tokens at the moment, and I have no idea what I should buy for them. A new theme deck (I actually don't like any of them) or a specific booster pack?

Many questions... I hope you can help me.

leFroxx

when you say "for the beginning" I assume you mean they're a good pokemon to start with. If so, just keep in mind that even tho they're nice cards to start with you might not get them at your starting hand.

Mew is good, the others not so good. Shaymin might be useful for a late comeback. in General having 1 copy of a card is very unreliable

use more junipers instead of cheren. Use more N instead of colress

Yes, I mean they're good to start with. Well, that's right, but e.g. in the grass basic deck the good starters are Wurmple and Patrat in my opinion, and I had at least one of them in my starting hand nearly each game I played. Otherwise do you have another idea? What are other good starters I can get easily? (They must not be grass or water type)