What to do for a new deck?

LJchaos

Hey guys and girls! I'm new to the Pokemon TCG and I was wondering what the best way to set up a deck of my own was. Should I focus on 1 type or focus on strengths and weaknesses? Should I focus on attack or defense? Should I focus on Trainer cards? I'm at a loss! :(

Thank you for any help or tips you may have.

Also feel free to post your favourite deck setups as well (anything could help me at the moment!)

Thanks, LJchaos

if you want to have fun, play any deck that you are comfortable with. if you wanna play competitively, pay attention to the Metagame decks.

I agree with Battler. While I do not in any way support meta decks, if you want to play IRL, they're pretty much your only option. But if you're just playing this game casually and you don't care too much about winning every single game, make a deck of your own. Start by selecting a card that is really good, like an EX. Then, build around it. Use cards that support the Ex or whatever card you chose. Stick with the types of the EX. So, if your EX was White Kyurem PS, you would want Fire and Water types. Chandelure PF could energize White Kyurem's heavy attacks, while putting a little damage on it to power up it's attack just a little. Get it? You also don't have to use an EX. If your card was Beedrill, make a good deck around Beedrill with grass types that can heal and/or inflict poison. I actually have a Beedrill deck and it is really good. I could post some of my favorite decks once I get my printer working :D

Here’s my Beedrill deck.

Pokemon: 22

3 Caterpie

2 Metapod

1 Butterfree

2 Petlil

2 Lilligant (Bemusing Aroma)

1 Shaymin EX

4 Weedle (HGSS)

3 Kakuna (HGSS)

4 Beedrill (PF)

Trainers: 25

1 GoldPotion

4 Potions

3 Lasers

2 LevelBalls

2 PokemonCatchers

2 PKMNCommunication

2 RareCandy

2 Switches

2 Oak’s NewTheory

2 Elm’sTraining Method

1 Skyla

2 Virbank City Gyms

Energy: 13

13 GrassEnergy