It doesn't target the pokemon, it targets the player. So Omega Barrier isn't triggered.
It's not necessarily targeting the player, but it does matter whether it's Active, or on the bench.
These rulings (for Escape Rope and Lysandre) should make it clear:
Q. If I use Escape Rope but my opponent's Active Pokemon has the "Omega Barrier" Ancient Trait does he or she have to switch it? Or if they have a Pokemon with "Omega Barrier" on the bench can he or she choose that and not switch it to Active?
A. If your opponent has an Active Pokemon with "Omega Barrier", then Escape Rope's effect will be blocked. If a Pokemon with "Omega Barrier" is on the bench, choosing that Pokemon will not stop the effect as the Active was the target of Escape Rope. (Primal Clash FAQ; Feb 5, 2015 TPCi Rules Team)
Q. If my opponent's Active Pokemon has the "Omega Barrier" Ancient Trait, can I use Lysandre to switch one of my benched Pokemon with it?
A. If your opponent's Benched Pokemon has "Omega Barrier", then Lysandre's effect will be blocked. But choosing a Benched Pokemon without "Omega Barrier" will cause it to switch with the Active Pokemon because the Benched Pokemon is the target of Lysandre. (Apr 9, 2015 TPCi Rules Team)
When an opponent plays an Escape Rope item card, and you select to promote a Pokémon with the Ω Barrier ancient trait (which reads, "Whenever your opponent plays a trainer card (excluding Pokémon tools and stadium cards), prevent all effects of that card done to this Pokémon), the switching effect of the Escape Rope on your Pokémon is not prevented, even though all effects of the Escape Rope should be.
From the ruling above, you can see that just choosing a Pokémon with Barrier on the bench does not stop the effect of Escape Rope.
These "technicalities" can make your head spin. You're not alone.
Edited by RobRatt, 13 March 2019 - 04:34 AM.