Jump to content

Abilities used from the hand...


  • Please log in to reply

20 February 2019 - 09:13 PM

#1

SandaledOtter

    Elite Trainer

  • SandaledOtter

Using an in-hand Ability is not considered "playing" a card from your hand, specifically regarding Gengar&Mimikyu's Horror House GX and Trumbeak's Mountain Pass Ability.

 

I've seen this in the game, so I know that Trumbeak can be used after HH. Is this the way it should be?


"Swishonk!" That's what's happening!

  • 0

21 February 2019 - 03:57 AM

#2

SuperStone

    Elite Trainer

  • SuperStone

Hmmm... According to Trumbeak's text, you aren't "playing" it, just "revealing" it.  Of course, no abilities say "play this card" (I don't think), but I wonder if that makes a difference.


The truth waits for no one.  That which you refuse to see, TPCi, slips past you.  The chat function was never your problem, yet through your blindness, you have made it one.

  • 0

21 February 2019 - 08:28 AM

#3

Felidae_

    Elite Trainer

  • Felidae_

Hmmm... According to Trumbeak's text, you aren't "playing" it, just "revealing" it.  Of course, no abilities say "play this card" (I don't think), but I wonder if that makes a difference.

Actually all Pokemon that do something when they come into play from your hand have this wording.

 

When you play this Pokémon from your hand onto your Bench during your turn, you may search your deck for a Supporter card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then, shuffle your deck.

 

 

When you play this Pokémon from your hand onto your Bench, you may draw cards until you have 6 cards in your hand.

 

 

When you play this Pokémon from your hand onto your Bench during your turn, you may move any number of (L) Energy from your other Pokémon to this Pokémon. If you do, switch this Pokémon with your Active Pokémon.

 

 

The same question came up in the rules compendium upgrade last November:

 

Q. Does using Trumbeak's "Mountain Pass" Ability count as playing it from the hand? If so, would it be blocked if my opponent used Chimecho's "Bell of Silence" attack on the previous turn?
A. No, it is not being played from the hand. You are revealing the Trumbeak and then putting it into the Lost Zone; that is not blocked by Bell of Silence. (Nov 1, 2018 TPCi Rules Team)


The shadows of the abyss are like the petals of a monstrous flower that shall blossom within the skull and expand the mind beyond what any man can bear, but whether it decays under the earth or above on green fields, or out to sea or in the very air, all shall come to revelation, and to revel, in the knowledge of the strangling fruit - and the hand of the sinner shall rejoice, for there is no sin in shadow or in light that the seeds of the dead cannot forgive...

 

  • 2

21 February 2019 - 03:55 PM

#4

SandaledOtter

    Elite Trainer

  • SandaledOtter

The same question came up in the rules compendium upgrade last November:

 

Q. Does using Trumbeak's "Mountain Pass" Ability count as playing it from the hand? If so, would it be blocked if my opponent used Chimecho's "Bell of Silence" attack on the previous turn?
A. No, it is not being played from the hand. You are revealing the Trumbeak and then putting it into the Lost Zone; that is not blocked by Bell of Silence. (Nov 1, 2018 TPCi Rules Team)

Good, I didn't cheat, then. :)

 

It just feels pretty much the same as using an item or supporter, performing its action, and discarding it.


Edited by SandaledOtter, 21 February 2019 - 03:58 PM.

"Swishonk!" That's what's happening!

  • 0

22 February 2019 - 03:45 AM

#5

SuperStone

    Elite Trainer

  • SuperStone

Actually all Pokemon that do something when they come into play from your hand have this wording.

A good point, but those are abilities activated upon being played; whereas trumbeak, talonflame StS, and a few others are independent of that.


Edited by SuperStone, 22 February 2019 - 03:45 AM.

The truth waits for no one.  That which you refuse to see, TPCi, slips past you.  The chat function was never your problem, yet through your blindness, you have made it one.

  • 0