Jump to content

Why do cards that clearly state "This Pokemon can't use this attack during your next turn" allow you to attack after simply swapping them out.


  • Please log in to reply

24 January 2019 - 03:59 AM

#1

Bewks

    Rookie Trainer

  • Bewks

Title.

Examples are Ho-oh GX, Dragonite GX, Zeraora GX, etc.

Is there some sort of rule I am missing? At least to me it pretty clearly states on the card that they shouldn't be able to attack. So why does swapping them out and then back in somehow override this rule?

I am very new to the game, so I would understand if there is some rule I missed or whatever, and I don't think this bug makes these cards overpowered (A little frustrating I'll be honest) but I would like some sort of explanation if there is one.

It happened to me on stream several times, so I was able to get a clip.



[url="****************************************************************"]****************************************************************[/url]

EDIT. I suppose linked aren't allowed here. My bad.


Edited by Bewks, 24 January 2019 - 04:02 AM.

  • 0

24 January 2019 - 04:11 AM

#2

RobRatt

    Elite Trainer

  • RobRatt

There are different Zones in the game.  ...Active position, the Bench, your Deck, your Hand, and the Discard Pile.  When a Pokémon switches Zones, essentially, it's previous effects are removed.  That's just the way it is.  When it goes from Active, back to the Bench, and then Active again, it's not the same monster (with the limitations).  That's why cards like Guzma, Escape Board, Escape Rope, Float Stone, Switch, etc. are such a common element in the game, as well as Pokémon Abilities that make this possible.
 
Here are a couple of the official rulings, to give you an idea:

 

Q. Does benching ALWAYS 'reset' the Pokémon completely?
A. Benching always reset attack effects. (April 13, 2000 WotC Chat Q43)

 
Benching a Pokemon removes all Special Conditions on that Pokemon including Poisoned and Burned, and all Attack effects on that Pokemon that do not place a Marker (such as Imprison). (Apr 17, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

It does seem rather confusing, but status effects change between Zones.  Note, that you cannot use Abilities (used to be Poke-Bodies and Poke-Powers) a second time, just because the Pokémon has moved to the Bench.

 

If it's any consolation, the players that run these decks have to include extra cards or methods for switching.  It's not always easy, and takes more effort.  You need to recognize, their "advantage" can often be a liability.


Edited by RobRatt, 24 January 2019 - 04:55 AM.

  • 0

25 January 2019 - 08:00 AM

#3

Mod_Alder

    Moderator

  • Mod_Alder

Hello there trainers, thank you for that great clarification Rob as always. 


Moderator Alder
Pokémon TCG Online Moderator

Need help from the support team? Visit the support portal and submit a ticket!