Jump to content

Field Blower/Prims Star Stadium Glitch


  • Please log in to reply

23 November 2018 - 10:28 PM

#1

Peva

    Rookie Trainer

  • Peva

Okay, so basically what happened is that I was able to use a field blower on a prism star stadium. Now, it still didn't discard the stadium, but according to judges, you shouldn't be able to use the field blower at all in the first place.

 

Just need an OFFICIAL ruling here, from someone OFFICIAL.

 

Which of the following is true?

 

A: If a prism star stadium is up and no Pokemon have any tool cards attached to them, then neither player is allowed to attempt to play a field blower.

 

B: If a prism star stadium is up and no Pokemon have any tool cards attached to them, then either play is allowed to attempt to play a field blower, and it will simply have no effect.


Edited by Peva, 23 November 2018 - 10:36 PM.

  • 0

23 November 2018 - 10:36 PM

#2

Sakura150612

    Elite Trainer

  • Sakura150612

Was the Prism Star stadium the only card in place that you could use Field Blower on (as in, where there any tools attached to any Pokemon)? You can't use trainer cards for no effect, but maybe if there were other Field Blower targets available you are allowed to select the Stadium as well even if it does nothing. Just maybe though. Maybe that's a bug too.


  • 0

23 November 2018 - 10:37 PM

#3

Peva

    Rookie Trainer

  • Peva

Apologies, there were no tools in play. I updated the original post.


  • 0

24 November 2018 - 12:15 AM

#4

XK920XK

    Veteran Trainer

  • XK920XK

good question id like to know the official ruling as well

 

here is my thoughts, you should be able to play field blower just as normal and then not be able to remove the stadium.  i would interpret this similar to ancient traits like primal groudon. in primal groudon ancient trait it says that trainer cards effects doesnt apply to it (ie crushing hammers/ehammers/guzma) but you can still use it for no effect and discard that card.


  • 0

24 November 2018 - 12:21 AM

#5

Peva

    Rookie Trainer

  • Peva

good question id like to know the official ruling as well

 

here is my thoughts, you should be able to play field blower just as normal and then not be able to remove the stadium.  i would interpret this similar to ancient traits like primal groudon. in primal groudon ancient trait it says that trainer cards effects doesnt apply to it (ie crushing hammers/ehammers/guzma) but you can still use it for no effect and discard that card.

 

This was my thoughts. Haven't been able to get a true ruling yet.


  • 0

24 November 2018 - 04:30 AM

#6

Loof6

    Veteran Trainer

  • Loof6

B is right.

 

You can try to discard the prism stadium with field blower but it will simply have no effect cuz the prism stadium mechanic.

 

 

You can't use trainer cards for no effect,

 

That`s not true. You can use trainer cards for no effect. For example, you can use Lysandre and choose a Pokemon with the Ω Barrier,like XY Promo 49 Regirock.


  • 0

24 November 2018 - 04:44 AM

#7

Sakura150612

    Elite Trainer

  • Sakura150612

That`s not true. You can use trainer cards for no effect. For example, you can use Lysandre and choose a Pokemon with the Ω Barrier,like XY Promo 49 Regirock.

Yes, but then there's stuff like not being able to use Ultra Balls with 0 cards in the deck because it technically can't use its effect (search the deck). This came up in a discussion the other day with regards to pokemon attacks that have no effects (using Call for Family with a full bench, for example), and the conclusion was that Pokemon can always use their attacks even if they have no effect, but Trainers couldn't be used for "no effect" (which as you can see is a rather inconsistent ruling).


  • 0

24 November 2018 - 10:18 AM

#8

Felidae_

    Elite Trainer

  • Felidae_

Loof is right.

 

Nothing in the rules prevent you from targeting the Stadium.

There is a difference between the UB example and this one and they shouldn't be confused.

The reason you can't play UB with an empty deck is due to the fact that the hidden information (aka your deck( is no longer valid. You can always chose not to find anything if you search your deck, for obvious reasons, however if your deck is empty any card that requires you to “search your deck” bypasses the hidden information rule and thus becomes invalid.

 

In the case of the Prism Star cards we are dealing with an effect that states:

Whenever any player plays an Item or Supporter card from their hand, prevent all effects of that card done to this Stadium card.

 

They key element here is that the card doesn't prevent you from targeting it, it will simply prevent the effect. Imagine playing Buzzwole / Landorus and your opponents has a Bench Barrier Mr. Mime on his side. You still need to chose with Pokemon on the Bench should receive the 30 damage, even though technically the damage is going to be prevented either way.

For the same reason you can target Primal Groudon EX with Lysandre, Hammer and whatnot, you just wont get anything out of it.

 

There can even be situations where discarding your own Field Blower is the right play and simultaneously there will be situations where this is wrong / or was done without knowing the card.

 

You can make mistakes in this game and that's pretty important in my opinion.


The shadows of the abyss are like the petals of a monstrous flower that shall blossom within the skull and expand the mind beyond what any man can bear, but whether it decays under the earth or above on green fields, or out to sea or in the very air, all shall come to revelation, and to revel, in the knowledge of the strangling fruit - and the hand of the sinner shall rejoice, for there is no sin in shadow or in light that the seeds of the dead cannot forgive...

 

  • 0

24 November 2018 - 03:12 PM

#9

Chasista

    Elite Trainer

  • Chasista

@ Peva: B is right.

 

You can play the F blower hoping the effect to work, but the ruling on the (Prism star) stadium avoids the effect.

 

There's a difference between 'Play for no effect' and 'Effect doesn't occur or is avoided'.

 

You can play F Blower to attempt to remove a Prism star stadium. And you can play Lysandre sniping Primal Groudon if in bench and play Enhanced hammer as long as there is a Special energy attached. Conditions are fulfilled. But then the effect is negated.

 

Play a card for no effect would be play a F Blower when no stadiums and/or tools in field, play Enhanced hammer  when no Special energies or Play Lysandre over an empty bench. You cannot because conditions to play the card are incomplete.

 

It's clear, and it's basically a wording matter.


WE WANT LEGACY TOURNAMENTS BACK !!! If you also want it, show your support http://forums.pokemontcg.com/topic/55966-feedback-making-it-easier-to-get-the-cards-you-want/

5th day reward packs list http://forums.pokemontcg.com/topic/56679-5th-day-log-in-pack-is-random-got-a-gur-dd/?p=593037

Foro en español, también existe: http://forums.pokemontcg.com/forum/2-español/

IGN Chasista

  • 1