Tips for a complete newbie?

• Please log in to reply

03 October 2018 - 09:23 PM

moussambani

Novice Trainer

• moussambani

Hi there. I just started playing online a week ago or so. I never played the physical TCG. (Does this make the online version a special TCG? hehe). My first pokemon game I played was Y.

The main question is: How should I spend my coins? (I have 700 and change). I've read the forum for a bit. Main takes are shy away from a 20-20-20 split in favor of a 15-30-15 split or something like that, and main factor is the trainers.

I'm not planning for a world-class level deck, so I would accept some budget cuts. I just want something that works well, which means, I guess, I don't need that many tips? I don't know...

I have three GX, for what it's worth, and two of them are Glaceon and Leafeon. Maybe the game is trying to tell me something, hehe...

I should try to keep it to standard, right? I guess I just have no experience with this TCG, but I played a couple other such games, so I'm aware of the aggro-control-combo stuff. Is this present in Pokémon? I guess what are the main deck archtypes is what I'm asking.

I don't need lengthy explanations. I know how to play ruleswise. I'm just looking for some quick pointers so I can try to pick what I build and stuff without the utter "this is a foreign land" feeling.

Thank you everyone for your time. :)

03 October 2018 - 11:47 PM

SandaledOtter

Elite Trainer

• SandaledOtter

700 coins, you should buy the Mach Strike, Imperial Command, or Tropical Takedown Theme Deck from the shop, if you don't have them yet, for 500.

Try to do the daily challenges to get more tokens and cards, and the Trainer Challenges to complete your starter decks and get bonus packs.

When you have tickets, enter Theme events to get some packs you can trade for the cards you decide you want.