Insight for a newbie looking to build his first deck in two decades?

• Please log in to reply

08 August 2018 - 10:36 PM

TeamAbra87

Rookie Trainer

• TeamAbra87

Hi everyone! I am a sort-of newbie to the TCG - I was a huge fan when I was a kid (who wasn't?) but that was a good... many years ago. I'm looking to get back into it, and whew, a lot's changed. I'd like to build the kind of deck a 10-year-old me would be proud of, and one I could play competitively.

My biggest concern is building a deck that'll stay competitive post-rotation. I'd like to amass a nice collection of cards, but I can't really go nuts with it. So I'd like to focus in on what I'd be buying (within reason - I obviously want to give myself some wiggle room).

Right now I'm leaning toward a Zoroark deck, and had toyed with a Solgaleo in the past. In a perfect world I'd really love a Psychic deck, but apparently those don't seem to be as competitive?

I was hoping you lovely folks could suggest a fun, interesting options for starting out. Bonus points for not needing to rethink the entire deck in a few months, if at all possible.

Really appreciate it!

08 August 2018 - 10:48 PM

WingsofFire1014

Senior Trainer

• WingsofFire1014
Of you want a Zoroark deck you should use Zoroark Gx(if you know what those are) get on Pokemon.com and go to 2018 championship series results. You will find a lot of Zoroark Gx deck lists. He goes with a lot of cards! You could also watch some videos of people battling with the deck. It you are new you should also look up the staple card list. A lot of those cards are used in every deck. Or watch some tutorial videos. It will help you get started. Zoroark Gx is also very competitive. Hope this helps!
Try try again. Never ever quit.

08 August 2018 - 10:49 PM

xXTheStalkXx

Trainer

• xXTheStalkXx