Jump to content

Who promotes first?

General

  • Please log in to reply

07 August 2018 - 02:12 PM

#1

jpg8787

    Junior Trainer

  • jpg8787

I was playing the Trainer Challenge today and encountered a bug.  The computer knocked out my Pokemon with Mienchao from Furious Fists using the attack Aero Turn.  This attack states

 

 

Return this Pokemon and all cards attached to it to your hand.

 

It's my understanding that attack effects like this are supposed to be resolved before KOs, so the attacking player should promote a new active before my Pokemon was actually knocked out.  But the game forced me to choose a new active first.


  • 0

07 August 2018 - 04:31 PM

#2

graywh

    Elite Trainer

  • graywh

Haze Slash    (Greninja GX - Forbidden Light)
Q. If I use Greninja GX's "Haze Slash" attack to shuffle it back into my deck and also Knock Out the Defending Pokemon, who promotes a new Active Pokemon first?
A. In this case you promote first. Greninja GX is shuffled back in as an effect of the attack before KO's are checked, so it must be replaced before either player checks for KO's. (Forbidden Light FAQ; May 3, 2018 TPCi Rules Team)

 

Based on this ruling, the player using Aero Turn must promote a new active first.


Edited by graywh, 07 August 2018 - 04:32 PM.

Forums Rules
  • Stay on Topic
  • Search, then Post
  • Be Constructive
  • Play Nice
  • Be Honest
  • Keep Your Private Life Private
  • Keep Your Links Official
  • Discipline is Private
http://forums.pokemontcg.com/index.php?app=forums&module=extras&section=boardrules
  • 1

13 August 2018 - 04:26 PM

#3

jpg8787

    Junior Trainer

  • jpg8787

So this is a bug, right?  Are they going to fix it?


  • 0



Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: General