The 2nd round of tournaments should begin as soon as possible instead of waiting for all 8 players to finish

• Please log in to reply

12 July 2018 - 12:13 AM

mrdoingboing

Rookie Trainer

• mrdoingboing

This is my first time posting on the forums, so I'm sorry if this isn't the right place. As I'm typing this, I've been waiting about 10 minutes for my next match to begin in this tournament since I managed to get a turn 3 win (woo woo). My opponent for the next round finished their game pretty quickly as well, and it just seems kind of weird to me that both of us are ready to play but we aren't allowed to.

If our upcoming match were to run particularly long, we might end up forcing the person on the other side of the bracket to wait as long as like 20 minutes for the finals match. If we were to get our game started 15 minutes before the other 2nd round match, they would only have to wait 5 minutes instead of 20 in this hypothetical scenario. 

The way I see it, there's absolutely nothing to be lost by allowing 2nd round matches to be played as soon as possible. The worst case scenario is that one person on the opposite side of the bracket would have to wait several rounds for everyone else to get their matches done, but at that point they would still be waiting the exact same amount of time all at once instead of in two smaller timeslots. 

In other words, the potential time saved is pretty significant AND it's impossible for there to be any more waiting than the current system. 

12 July 2018 - 12:21 AM

XK920XK

Veteran Trainer

• XK920XK

the devs can correct me if im wrong, but im sure the thought process behind the current format is that they want to split up long waits into 2 shorter ones incase you get 2 quick victories.  imagine if you got 2 quick 3 turn wins and the other side of bracket takes almost full time for each game, your wait for finals game would be super long so in the current format, they would split that long wait time into 2 shorter ones.