Jump to content

[CARD] Deoxys XY Roaring Skies 33 - Close Encounter not checking what turn it is


  • Please log in to reply

01 July 2018 - 10:41 PM

#1

MeltedSpades

    Rookie Trainer

  • MeltedSpades

client - 2.53.0.3787

card - deoxys (xy roaring skies 33)

expected action - close encounter should not be able to be used after the first attacking turn

actual action - close encounter can be used on subsequent turns

 

it may be ai only, I only noticed it doing trainer challenge 

 

 

game log showing the ai using the move in back to back turns (event 33 & 54)

23. It is now Penelope's turn (Turn #2).
    24. Penelope drew a card.
    25. Penelope attached a Psychic Energy to Deoxys.
    26. Penelope played Pokémon Fan Club.
    27. Penelope drew Staryu.
    28. Penelope drew Phantump.
    29. Penelope put Staryu onto the Bench.
    30. Penelope put Phantump onto the Bench.
    31. Penelope drew a card.
    32. Penelope drew a card.
    33. Penelope's Deoxys used its Close Encounter attack.
    34. It is now MeltedSpades's turn (Turn #3).
    35. MeltedSpades drew Grass Energy.
    36. MeltedSpades attached a Grass Energy to Snivy.
    37. Servine became MeltedSpades's new Active Pokémon.
    38. MeltedSpades's Snivy evolved into Servine.
    39. MeltedSpades's Servine used Tackle and did 30 damage to Penelope's Deoxys.
    40. It is now Penelope's turn (Turn #4).
    41. Penelope drew a card.
    42. Penelope put Trevenant onto the Bench.
    43. Penelope's Phantump evolved into Trevenant.
    44. Penelope put Starmie onto the Bench.
    45. Penelope's Staryu evolved into Starmie.
    46. Penelope attached a Double Colorless Energy to Deoxys.
    47. Penelope played Super Potion.
    48. Penelope's Deoxys healed for 30.
    49. Penelope played Great Ball.
    50. Penelope drew Barboach.
    51. Penelope put Barboach onto the Bench.
    52. Penelope drew a card.
    53. Penelope drew a card.
    54. Penelope's Deoxys used its Close Encounter attack.
    55. It is now MeltedSpades's turn (Turn #5).

  • 0

01 July 2018 - 11:12 PM

#2

RobRatt

    Elite Trainer

  • RobRatt

 

client - 2.53.0.3787

card - deoxys (xy roaring skies 33)

expected action - close encounter should not be able to be used after the first attacking turn

actual action - close encounter can be used on subsequent turns

It's easy to see why this is confusing.  But it's working as intended.  The only thing this attack really does is "Draw 2 cards."  The other wording just allows you to use it turn 1.

 

Close Encounter:  [C]  If you go first, you can use this attack on your first turn.  Draw 2 cards.

 

Here's the official ruling...

 

A:  You can use it on any turn, including your turn if you go first (when you normally would not be allowed to attack). (Roaring Skies FAQ; May 7, 2015 TPCi Rules Team)


Edited by RobRatt, 01 July 2018 - 11:15 PM.

  • 0

02 July 2018 - 02:59 AM

#3

Mod_Alder

    Moderator

  • Mod_Alder

Thanks for that detailed explanation Rob. 


Moderator Alder
Pokémon TCG Online Moderator

Need help from the support team? Visit the support portal and submit a ticket!