Collecting Pokemon Cards

• Please log in to reply

26 June 2018 - 12:01 PM

gabiruman

Rookie Trainer

• gabiruman

Hello there, I'm fairly new to the card game side of Pokemon, I've collected a few ramdomly in my early years but I kept no record of it.

Yesterday I bought a pack from the Shining Legends series, and I got the urge to restart collecting, but I'm so lost... where does one begin nowadays? 

I know there have been many of these so called expansions, but which ones should I collect first? Which ones are more worthy of collecting? Can you only buy the expansions? Or are there any "regular" packs out there?

Are there any official or even unofficial catalogs for storing collections? 

Too many questions I know, but I really don't have a clue xD

FYI in not really looking to get into the TCG itself, for now I just want to collect the cards.

Thanks in advance

Gabriel

Edited by gabiruman, 26 June 2018 - 12:02 PM.

26 June 2018 - 05:19 PM

The_Archives

Novice Trainer

• The_Archives
Good morrow, gabiruman. I believe that RobRatt has the approximate number of cards that you can collect, it’s pinned in the trading section of the forums.

If you would like a more graphical version of all the cards you can collect, I would suggest you to go to your collection, and check the « show unowned » option. Then, play a little bit with the filters (common only, uncommon only, foil only, etc...) and you should be able to see what you’re looking for.

I would like to warn you that it’s going to be very hard to have a complete collection, as some cards are extremely expensive. Try starting with a small expansion, such as Shining Legends, or a cheap one, such as Emerging Powers. Also, the things that you will redeem can be traded, unlike those that you buy in the shop with coins. Trade what you have wisely.

Good luck finding the droids that you are looking for.

27 June 2018 - 12:46 AM

Mod_RedDragon

• Mod_RedDragon