New to the game. please help :)

• Please log in to reply

04 June 2018 - 02:32 PM

WereWolfKnight

Rookie Trainer

• WereWolfKnight

Hello there. I'm new to the Pokemon TCG. i am looking for advice on my deck. i brought 2 copies of the bright tide theme deck and was wondering what cards I could use to improve it. Atm i only have the 2 decks of cards. but i am willing to spend a bit on it but i am a budget player.

List of the current deck is below.

Thank you in advance.

WereWolfKnight

Pokemon: 21

3x Popplio

2x Brione

2x Primarina

2x Psyduck

2x Golduck

2x Shellder

2x Cloyster

2x Corsola

2x Chinchou

2x Lanturn

Trainers: 22

Nest Ball x4

Timer Ball x4

Ultra Ball x2

Energy Retrieval x2

Potion x2

Hau x4

Lillie x2

Professor Kukui x2

Energy: 17

Blue Energy x11

Yellow Energy x 6

Edited by WereWolfKnight, 04 June 2018 - 02:39 PM.

04 June 2018 - 04:08 PM

Mod_Jynthu

• Mod_Jynthu

Hello WereWolfKnight,

Welcome to the game! I hope that you are able to make the improvements that you are hoping for. 

Good luck!

Moderator Jynthu
Pokémon TCG Online Moderator
Need help from the support team? Visit the support portal and submit a ticket!

04 June 2018 - 09:43 PM

TheMy5teryMan

Rookie Trainer

• TheMy5teryMan

One thing you have to understand is that the theme decks are NOT good templates for regular decks. The Pokemon Company also gives advice, but that advice is more based around kids playing the game and is not a good thing to go by. Some issues with the deck:

1. There are way too many evolution lines, and too many pokemon.

emember that you can only have six pokemon in play at maximum, so too many pokemon will not help you. Also keep in mind that too many evolution lines leads to dead cards in hand - a Stage 1 is only useful if you happen to have the right basic on your bench, so having other pokemon on the bench increases the chances of drawing dead cards. Stick to around 17 pokemon AT MAX, focusing on only one or two evolution lines.