Making a Beginner Deck

• Please log in to reply

03 June 2018 - 06:05 PM

Starwind1985

Rookie Trainer

• Starwind1985
I like Fire and Electric types. I am a beginner. I know the basics of the game but I need help building a deck.

03 June 2018 - 08:22 PM

ZotiMoon

Junior Trainer

• ZotiMoon

Hey Starwind

I think you'll get a lot of good advice for deck building here. I'll suggest a couple of things to get things started xD

Very roughly, think of your deck of 60 cards as having 20 Pokemon, 20 energy cards, and 20 trainer cards. 

You will very rarely stick to that, but that's a good place to begin; you'll modify it according to taste, the Pokemon you are using, and the kind of trainers you want to use. 

I like Fire and Electric types too, so I think that's a good choice. Fire can be very fast to power up with Kiawe Supporter card. Try getting a Charizard, or something... then develop your choices from there.

For Electric, Vikavolt is a good choice for powering your Pokemon; the promo card allows you to attach an extra energy per turn. Magnezone allows you to attach as many energy cards from your hand to your Pokemon as you like. Look out for the abilities on Pokemon, and they might inspire your decks.

Other than that try to get hold of some EX and GX cards for some heavy damage.

Edited by ZotiMoon, 03 June 2018 - 10:26 PM.

Bika Bika!!

- Pikachu 

03 June 2018 - 08:33 PM

Starwind1985

Rookie Trainer

• Starwind1985
Thanks for the tips.

Is it possible to play this without ever buying cards IRL? I know about the codes but I wouldn’t be using the other cards because no one I know is into Pokémon.

03 June 2018 - 10:24 PM

ZotiMoon

Junior Trainer

• ZotiMoon

Thanks for the tips.

Is it possible to play this without ever buying cards IRL? I know about the codes but I wouldn’t be using the other cards because no one I know is into Pokémon.

You're welcome!