Newbie help.

• Please log in to reply

31 March 2018 - 07:26 AM

YaBoySnoopz

Rookie Trainer

• YaBoySnoopz

Hiya, I'm new to the basis of building decks and would like a couple pointers. I know a lot based on the game itself but finding the best way to put together decks is a bit tricky for me still. I have not made decks in the past and I would like somebody to help me out. How many Pokemon should I have in a deck? How many trainers and energies? What kind of trainers? If somebody can help me out, that would be great. If anybody has any recommendations for a Tapu Koko GX deck, that'll be great as well. 

Thank you in advanced!

Much Love,

Snoopz

ItsYaBoySnoopz here! Xbox player, PS player and PC player. Add me on most things @ TheSnoopzEffect

31 March 2018 - 02:14 PM

Chasista

Elite Trainer

• Chasista

There is a lot to know, and it's going to be a wall of text. You can check threads in this same subforum for more accurate info about some specific decks.

In general terms:

Start thinking 15-30-15 as a build rule, even though 14-34-12 would be closer to an awesome balance, Pokémon-Trainers-Energies.

If you need something (to make the deck work), add more than one, because if prized, you're lost.

You need a Hitter, usually high damage attacks with low energy, high HP. Mainly GX or EX. Add 3-4.

Then you need some partners to help the hitter (increasing the damage or the HP, completing the attacks with Special conditions, searching the deck for what you need... whatever). Example would be Garchomp+Lucario, Octillery, Dawn wings Necrozma for Golisopod GX, the omnipresent Zoroark-GX... Add enough (2-2 line, 3-3 line, 2 or 3 if basics).

But the most important part of a deck, are the trainers. Will get you the card you need, in the moment you want it. And that's why there are at least, double of the others.

The present Standard meta runs a trainers core kind of:

2-3 Sycamore
4 UB
3-4 Cynthia
2-3 Guzma
1-2 N