Should I Build Standard or Expanded Decks?

• Please log in to reply

19 March 2018 - 09:10 PM

HokageDomo

Rookie Trainer

• HokageDomo

So im new to the TCGO community and was wondering if i should build standard or expanded decks. I saw that the card choice is much different but besides that i dont know the difference. Can someone explain it please and recommend which one to build. If both are worth building can you give me situations when to use one over the other. Thanks!

21 March 2018 - 02:03 AM

SuperStone

Elite Trainer

• SuperStone

It comes down to how you like to play. Usually, Expanded has a more diverse deckpool, more weird decks, more fun decks, and somewhat faster play. Standard is a little slower-paced, and typically more competitive, since it's the format almost all large tournaments use.

Right now, Standard is actually really slow, although Zoroark-GX is changing that a little. However, I don't know enough about what's good in Expanded right now to compare them that way.

I used to like Expanded more for three reasons:

• Fewer restrictions
  • I owned more old cards
  • The pokemon I liked only had good cards from the B&W era.

Now I like Standard better, because of three reasons:

• I like the decks and meta better.
  • Oh my, I really don't have any other reasons.
  • Oh well.

Edited by SuperStone, 27 March 2018 - 12:38 AM.

The rest of the world must act as they see fit.  If TPCi insists on keeping the Chat canned, that is their decision.

But that does not stop me from opposing it.

And I will oppose it forever.

26 March 2018 - 05:18 PM

Princess_Aurora

Senior Trainer

• Princess_Aurora